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Unlawful Carrying or Possession of a Weapon
Tennessee Code Annotated 39-17-1307

• updates as of 07/01/21 

• Section g adds an exception to the unlawful carrying of a weapon 
statute if: 

• 1. The person meets age qualifications 

• 2. Person lawfully possesses the handgun; and 

• 3. The person is lawfully present
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MEMPHIS POLICE DEPARTMENT
PERMITLESS HANDGUN CARRY PROHIBITIONS

PUBLIC INFORMATION LEAFLET

A person cannot obtain a permit nor be a permitless handgun carrier if they have a 

prohibition under T.C.A. § 39-17-1307 (b) (1) and (f) (1), 18 U.S.C. 922 (g) or any other state 

or federal law. The combined prohibitions to firearm possession under these statutes are:   

 

1)  A conviction for a felony crime,   

2)  A conviction for a felony crime of violence,  

3)  A conviction for an attempted felony crime of violence,  

4)  A conviction for a felony involving the use of a deadly weapon,  

5)  A conviction for a felony drug conviction,  

6)  A conviction for domestic violence,  

7) Is currently under a court’s jurisdiction to prevent harassing, stalking, or threatening an 

intimate partner,  

8)   Is a fugitive from justice,  

9)   Has renounced their U.S. Citizenship,  

10)  Received a dishonorable discharge from the Armed Services, 

11)  Is unlawfully in the United States, 

12) Has been adjudicated mentally defective or been committed to a mental institution 

within the past 7 years,  

13)  Is an unlawful user or addicted to any controlled substance; or,  

 a) is an unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance or alcohol  

  and,  

b) a patient in rehabilitation for substance abuse (alcohol or drugs) by court order; 

or, 

c) a voluntary patient in rehabilitation for substance abuse (alcohol or drugs). 

14) Is receiving social security disability benefits by reason of alcohol or drug   dependency 

or mental disability, 

15) Has two or more convictions for DUI, in this state or any other state, in the past 10 

years and none of those convictions have been in the past 5 years,  

16) Subject to any other state or federal law that prohibits them from possessing a firearm; 

or,   

 17) Has a conviction for stalking.  

 

 If a person has one of these prohibitions, they may not carry a handgun/firearm in 

Tennessee nor be granted a carry permit.  



MEMPHIS POLICE DEPARTMENT
PERMITLESS HANDGUN CARRY 

PUBLIC INFORMATION LEAFLET

All Carry Prohibited: May Carry with 

Permit Only:
• Any location, unless 

otherwise posted or 

prohibited by law or 

permit is required.

• Posted “Concealed Firearms 

by Permit Only” (Government 

or Private Buildings) (39-17-

1359)

• Parks (unless in use by a 

school for an athletic event or 

school activity on an athletic 

field) (39-17-1311)

• Full-time registered employees 

of universities/higher education 

institutions (39-17-1309)

• Campgrounds (39-17-1311)

• Greenways, Nature Trails (39-

17-1311)

• Judicial Buildings (39-17-1306)

• Federal Buildings (18 U.S.C. § 930)

• Public Schools, School Buses (39-17-1309)

• Property owned, operated, or while in use by a school (39-

17-1309, 1311)

• Private Schools where posted ((39-17-1321)

• Under the influence of alcohol/drugs (38-17-1321)

• Consuming alcohol where authorized to serve (39-17-1321)

• Public Recreational Buildings, Civic Centers (39-17-1311)

• The following, if posted “No Firearms Allowed”: (39-17-

1359)

o Private Businesses, Corporations

o Libraries

o Buildings containing law enforcement agencies

o Mental Health, Substance Abuse, or Intellectual & 

Development Disability Facilities

o Juvenile Facilities

o Licensed Health, Safety, and Environmental 

Protection facilities

o Department of Human Services-licensed facilities 

that administer a Head Start Program

• All other Government Buildings if posted “No Firearms 

Allowed” + Security Measures (39-17-1359)

A citizen who meets the following requirements may carry a loaded handgun either openly or concealed:

The person is 21 or older (18+ if enlisted in the military or has been honorably discharged); 

The person is in lawful possession of the handgun; and

The person is in a place where they are lawfully present. 

Please enroll in a firearms safety and training course and be knowledgeable about permitless carry before going armed in public.

Carry Allowed:



Businesses

6



7


